President Ben closed the meeting by acknowledging the hard work and dedication of all the students. He noted their success is enhanced by a strong school system and a supportive community. Ben personally addressed each recipient with poignant words of wisdom and encouragement as they head out on their next phase of their lives
Ben noted that he was a PHS student and Rotary scholarship recipient himself. He humorously qualified that by saying that they didn’t get so many applications back then.
Ben closed by reminding the students of the great futures they have ahead and the value they will bring back to their communities.
“We all consider the scholarships to be an investment,” Ben said. “You embody the values that we all share in Rotary.”   
2018 Rotary Club of Portsmouth Scholarship Recipients
Hannah Allen                                   University of New Hampshire
Madison Coscia                               Boston College
Willem Gerrish                                  Dartmouth College
Clay Hundertmark                            Bates College
Sydney Ludes                                  Denison University
Julia MacNair                                    Marist College
Jacob Morin                                      Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University
Casey Penacho                               Quinnipiac University
Ceilidh Shea                                     Colorado College
Chithra Singareddy                         Dartmouth College
Grace Smith                                      Oberlin College
Mark Weathersby                             Rochester Institute of Technology
Respectfully submitted, Anne Richter Arnold
Photos by Tube Loch